Monday, November 29, 2021

CRPF remembered its martyrs on Police commemoration day
JammuExpress. Dated: 10/21/2020 5:52:10 PM

Jammu Express News
Jammu, October 21:
Police Commemoration Day is observed every year on October 21 to remember and honour the brave CRPF personnel who have laid down their lives in the line of duty.
The day traces its history back to October 21, 1959, when twenty CRPF personnel were attacked by Chinese troops in Hot springs in North Eastern Ladakh.
However the CRPF troops were retaliated valiantly and thwarted back the Chinese aggression. Due to the altercation between the troops, ten Indian CRPF personnel attained martyrdom.
Guljari Lal Nanda then Home Minister of India paid tribute to martyrs and urge police forces to express gratitude to Police forces and remember 21 October as Police Commemoration Day. Since that time Police forces of different States, Paramilitary forces and other security forces remember their martyrs who had sacrificed their lives during the year.
On the occasion of ‘Police Commemoration Day’ various Battalions/Institutes of CRPF based in Jammu region organized programs and remembered their martyrs. During such an event organized in Group Centre CRPF Bantalab, P.S. Ranpise, IG CRPF, Jammu Sector apprised personnel about the importance of this day.
He paid tribute to the martyrs and expressed his gratitude towards them and their families. He also read all names of 264 martyrs of different Police forces who laid their lives during the last year.
S P Singh DIGP,GC Bantalab and all other senior Officers, Subordinated Officers and Jawans also participated in the wreath laying event. During the event, to give tributes to martyrs, two roads named after martyrs in the Group Centre Campus that is Shaheed Sipahi Inderjit Singh Marg and Shaheed Naik Raghubir Singh Marg and both roads were inaugurated by Veer Naari Madhu Devi and Kamlesh Devi respectively in the presence of P S Ranpise IGP, Jammu Sector, CRPF.
P S Ranpise IGP honoured Veer Naari by presenting them Shawl. All the activities were successfully conducted under the efficient leadership of the S P Singh, DIGP, GC BTB and active participation by P.C Gupta Commandant, Sumit Verma Dy Comdt., Rajesh Kumar Dy. Comdt, GC Bantalab.


Find Us on Facebook